Bloody Words is pleased to welcome the

International Association of Crime Writers


The North American Branch of the International Association of Crime Writers is pleased to announce nominees for their annual HAMMETT PRIZE for a work of literary excellence in the field of crime writing by a US or Canadian author.

The, nominees are as follows:

Gil Adamson, The Outlander (House of Anansi Press)

Michael Chabon, The Yiddish Policemens Union: A Novel (HarperCollins)

Michael Dibdin (1947-2007), End Games: An Aurelio Zen Mystery (Pantheon)

Katie Estill, Dahlias Gone: A Novel (St. Martins)

Martin Cruz Smith, Stalins Ghost: An Arkady Renko Novel (Simon & Schuster)

A reading committee of IACW/NA members selected the nominees, based on recommendations from other members and the publishing community. The committee was headed by Michael Bowen and included J. Madison Davis, Valerie Malmont, Dennis Richard Murphy, and Lynn Erickson (a.k.a. Carla Peltonan and Molly Swanton).

The winner will be chosen by three distinguished outside judges: award-winning music and film critic Gary Giddins, whose latest book is Natural Selection: Gary Giddins on Comedy, Film, Music and Books; Michael Posner, arts and feature writer for Canadas Globe and Mail; and Luanne Rice, New York Times bestselling author, whose most recent novel is Light of the Moon.

The organization will name the HAMMETT PRIZE winner, during the Bloody Words mystery conference in Toronto, June 6-8. The winner will receive a bronze trophy, designed by sculptor Peter Boiger.